Taste The Coffee

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. SGT/10 p.m. GMT


Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. SGT/10 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

EU-ELECTION-BRITAIN/

After EU poll disaster, Britain’s main parties gird for no-deal Brexit battle

LONDON (Reuters) – Britain’s two main parties set the stage on Monday for a battle over a no-deal Brexit, hoping to win back voters who abandoned them for a new movement led by eurosceptic Nigel Farage and other smaller parties in European elections.

JAPAN-USA-IRAN/

Trump says Iran nuclear deal achievable as sanctions sting

TOKYO (Reuters) – U.S. President Donald Trump said on Monday a deal with Iran on its nuclear program was possible, crediting economic sanctions for curbing activities Washington has said are behind a spate of attacks in the Middle East.

U.S.

USA-WEATHER/

Record heat hits U.S. Southeast, threat of flooding remains in Central states

A heat wave with record-breaking potential gripped the southeastern United States on Monday, while the Central Plains will get a respite from the deadly weather that has pounded and flooded the region since last week, forecasters said.

USA-MEASLES/

U.S. measles outbreak grows with 60 new measles cases across 26 states

The United States recorded 60 new measles cases last week, taking confirmed cases for the year to 940, the worst outbreak since 1994 and since measles was declared eliminated in 2000, federal health officials said on Monday.

BUSINESS

USA-TRADE-CANADA/

Canada takes first step towards ratifying new North American trade deal

OTTAWA (Reuters) – Canada took a first step toward ratifying the new North American trade agreement on Monday just three days ahead of U.S. Vice President Mike Pence’s trip to Ottawa to discuss the passage of the treaty.

FIAT-CHRYSLER-RENAULT/

Fiat Chrysler and Renault pursue $35 billion merger to combat car industry upheaval

MILAN/PARIS (Reuters) – Fiat Chrysler pitched a finely balanced merger of equals to Renault on Monday to tackle the costs of far-reaching technological and regulatory changes by creating the world’s third-biggest automaker.

ENTERTAINMENT

FILMFESTIVAL-CANNES-AWARDS/

South Korean social satire ‘Parasite’ wins Palme d’Or at Cannes

CANNES, France (Reuters) – “Parasite”, a wickedly humorous suspense movie about class struggles directed by South Korea’s Bong Joon-Ho, won the top Palme d’Or prize at the Cannes Film Festival on Saturday, on a big night for newcomer filmmakers too.

SPORTS

TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/

Easy for Nadal and Djokovic, scare for Serena

PARIS, May 27 (Reuters) – The surroundings looked slightly different but Rafael Nadal was his usual brutal self on a revamped Court Philippe Chatrier as he began his quest for a 12th French Open title on Monday.

SOCCER-ENGLAND/NEWCASTLE-SALE

Arab billionaire says he has agreed terms to buy Newcastle – report

Abu Dhabi billionaire Sheikh Khaled bin Zayed Al Nehayan says he has agreed terms with Newcastle United owner Mike Ashley to buy the Premier League club, the Newcastle Chronicle reported on Monday.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

PAPUA-POLITICS/

Papua New Guinea parliament meets after resignation of PM

Papua New Guinea’s parliament re-convenes in Port Moresby after prime minister Peter O’Neill announced his resignation on the weekend.

28 May 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

DDAY-ANNIVERSARY/WITNESS (PIX) (TV)

D-Day anniversary witness story from the Normandy village of Tilly-sur-Seulles

Color story ahead of the 75th D-Day anniversary from Tilly-sur-Seulles, a village 20km south of the Normandy coastline that lay on the frontline between British and German troops for close to three weeks and was left in ruins. Told through the eyes of a local, then 12-years-old, whose family hotel had been requisitioned by the Germans.

28 May 02:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

TURKEY-COMPANIES/LIRA (PIX)

Amid recession and weak lira, Turkish companies give business update

The Istanbul Chamber of Industry presents report on top 500 companies in Turkey, which is struggling with economic recession triggered by steep falls in the lira

28 May 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

SAFRICA-POLITICS/ (PIX)

South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa to announce new cabinet

President Cyril Ramaphosa to announce his new cabinet following his inaguaration. The announcement could come any time this week.

28 May

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

AFGHANISTAN-TALIBAN/RUSSIA

Afghan Taliban delegation to visit Moscow as peace push grows

A Taliban delegation led by the movement’s chief negotiator visits Moscow to attend a ceremony on Tuesday expected to be followed by informal talks with senior Afghan politicians on the peace process, officials say

28 May

JAPAN-USA/TRUMP-NAVY (PIX) (TV)

U.S. President Donald Trump inspects Japanese naval vessels and U.S. amphibious assault carrier

U.S. President Donald Trump inspects Japanese naval vessels and U.S. amphibious assault carrier during his four-day visit to the country.

28 May

DISASTERS / ACCIDENTS

USA-MEASLES/ (PIX) (GRAPHIC) U.S. CDC provides update on measles outbreak as disease at 25-year high

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides an update on the nation’s measles outbreak. So far this year the United States has recorded more cases of the sometimes deadly disease since it was declared eradicated in 2000.

28 May 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

CANADA-PRIVACY/ (PIX)

International lawmakers quiz social media executives on privacy, disinformation

An International committee of lawmakers will quiz executives from the main social media companies, including Facebook and Twitter, on privacy and disinformation. Afterward they will speak to the media.

28 May 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-CRIME/CULT

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York

Accused sex cult guru Keith Raniere faces trial in New York on charges including engaging in sex trafficking and child exploitation as the leader of a secretive organization called Nxivm.

28 May

USA-OPIOIDS/LITIGATION-FACTBOX

Factbox: State of play of opioid litigation in the U.S.

Factbox that highlights major opioid litigation in the U.S.

28 May

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

NETHERLANDS-STRIKE/ (PIX)

Dutch public transport on strike in demand for better pension deal

Public transport in the Netherlands will come to a halt on May 28 as workers demand higher pensions and the right to retire at the age of 66.

28 May 01:00 ET / 05:00 GMT

USA-OPIOIDS/LITIGATION (PIX) (TV)

Oklahoma takes J&J, Teva to trial over opioid epidemic

The state of Oklahoma is scheduled to take Johnson & Johnson and Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd to trial over claims that they engaged in deceptive marketing that contributed to the opioid epidemic.

28 May 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

NEWZEALAND-ECONOMY/IMMIGRATION (PIX)

Plunge in migration deepens NZ labor shortage, chokes businesses

Labour shortages are forcing New Zealand business owners to review their operations, some even shutting down. These warnings come as New Zealand’s central bank flagged last week that slowing migration, following the country’s center-left government’s efforts to curb immigration, was proving a huge drag on the economy.

28 May 22:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

CHINA-ECONOMY/HENAN-SOCIALMOBILITY (PIX) (TV)

INSIGHT China dreams on hold: heartland city feels chill of economic slowdown

As China’s economy slows, many in a key provincial city feel their chances of social mobility are diminishing as once-abundant opportunities dry up.

28 May 20:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

COLOMBIA-COFFEE/

Colombia’s coffee federation, Nespresso discuss troubled sector

Colombia’s coffee federation of coffee maker Nespresso will discuss ways to bolster the industry. President Ivan Duque will also attend the media event.

28 May

CHINA-TIANANMEN/HONGKONG (PIX) (TV)

30 years on, veteran cleric and Hong Kong democrat says Tiananmen will never be forgotten

As Hong Kong gears up to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the June 4 Tiananmen Square crackdown in Beijing in 1989, prominent and veteran democratic campaigner Reverend Chu Yiu-ming reflects back on that dark chapter and the ensuing decades.

28 May

GLOBAL-SWINEFEVER/OIE

Swine fever discussion at annual assembly of OIE world animal health body

Swine fever discussion at annual assembly of OIE world animal health body

28 May

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

BRAZIL-ENVIRONMENT/MANGROVE FOREST (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE – Brazil’s mangroves on the front line of climate change

Fishermen have made their living for decades hunting for crabs among Brazil’s vast coastal mangrove forests, dense thickets of twisted plants in deep black mud that grow where fresh-water rivers meet the brackish Atlantic Ocean.

28 May 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

USA-SPELLINGBEE/ (PIX) (TV)

New rules at U.S. spelling bee allow tie for biggest jackpot ever

Hundreds of young spelling aces face off on Tuesday at the start of the 92nd Scripps National Spelling Bee, competing for the richest top prize ever, with the chance it could be split by a tie for first place.

28 May



Source link Coffee Maker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Taste The Coffee 2019